Heinz-Billing-Award 2011 for Peter Wittenburg

The Heinz-Billing-Award 2011 is awarded to Peter Wittenburg. The prize is donated every two years by the Max Planck Society for the advancement of scientific computation. Wittenburg is head of MPI's Language Archive group.

March 18, 2011 

The Heinz-Billing-Award is donated biennially by the Heinz-Billing-Foundation of the Max Planck Society. The award, worth 5,000 euro, honours 'Outstanding Contributions to Computational Science'. The award is named after Professor Heinz Billing, emeritus of the Max Planck Institute for Astrophysics and also former chairman of the Advisory Committee for computers at the Max Planck Society. With the invention of the drum storage and the construction of the computers G1, G2, G3, Professor Billing was one of the pioneers of electronic data processing at the beginning of scientific computation.


'We already knew that there would not be a better candidate for this prize than Peter Wittenburg', says Managing Director Peter Hagoort (Max Planck Institute for Psycholinguistics). 'But of course, we are glad and proud that the Max Planck Society at large is of the same opinion.'
Go to Editor View